EDA Annual Awards of Excellence Program

The Economic Developers Alberta (EDA) Awards Program recognizes the province’s best economic development marketing materials, programs, partnerships and professionals that have made significant contributions to the profession.

EDA recognizes the individual achievements of its members and/or honours organizations for their efforts in growing their communities.


  • Call for Entries - January 4, 2022
  • Final Deadline for Submissions - March 11, 2022 at 4:30 PM
  • Awards Presentation - April 7, 2022

Entry Fees

  • Economic Developer of the Year- No charge
  • Outstanding Young Professional Award- No charge
  • Community Awards (Awards of Excellence)- $115 (+ GST)


Any EDA association voting member that is in good standing and resides within Alberta.

Nomination Categories

Community Awards (Awards of Excellence)- Recognizing outstanding work from economic developers across Alberta and showcase best practices in economic development projects and promotions. There are three awards in three categories; small medium and large communities in BRE, BIA & CED.

Economic Developer of the Year- Awarded to an individual who has made significant contributions to economic development within the province of Alberta. 

Outstanding Young Professional- Recognizes a young EDA member who demonstrates notable professional accomplishments to date and shows great future potential. This award serves to enhance Alberta’s economic development profession by celebrating young professionals and promoting future leaders. 

NEW: Gerry Gabinet Mentorship Award- Recognizes an EDA member that demonstrates a commitment to mentor other professionals in the field in order to elevate the profession. This inaugeral award for 2022 is sponsored by Air Products.

Presentation of Awards

Winners will be recognized April 7, 2022  during the EDA Xperience 2022 event. All entrants are encouraged to register and attend. 


Entries must be received by 4:30 p.m. MST on Friday, March 11, 2022.  Late entries will not be considered.

See the 2021 Award Winners

The following awards are presented at EDA's Annual Conference during the Awards Ceremony:


Alex Metcalfe – Best of Show: In honour of Alex Metcalfe, one of the founding members of EDA and first President in 1974, this award is judged from the overall community award winners in the categories of BRE, BIA & CED, with one (1) best of show candidate chosen.

President's Award: Recognizes an individual or organization that has made a substantial contribution of time and talent to Economic Developers Alberta in the past year. This award is chosen by EDA's President. 

Your Economic Development Network in Alberta


Toll Free Phone: 1.866.671.8182


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software