Log in

Board of Directors

Economic development professionals giving back to their profession and their province.

As a non-profit, EDA is governed by a volunteer board of directors.

2023-24 EDA Board of Directors

  • Shane Olson - President (Sherwood Park)
  • Eleanor Miclette - Past President (Canmore)
  • Hetti Huls - Secretary Treasurer (Grande Prairie) 
  • Amanda Mercer - Vice President (Sylvan Lake)
  • Trevor Lewington - Director (Lethbridge)
  • Ben Young - Director (Lethbridge)
  • Kate Koplovich - Director (Calgary)
  • Tom Mansfield- Director (Edmonton)
  • Amy Oshanyk - Director (Sturgeon County) 
  • Lorie Watson - Director (Okotoks)
  • Lisa Sweet - Director (Fort McMurray)

The affairs of the Association shall be governed by a Board of Directors comprised of eleven Directors. Seven Directors shall be elected by the members of the Association; two are automatically appointed (President and Immediate Past President); and two shall be appointed, one from each of the respective economic development agencies from Calgary and Edmonton.

The Nominating Committee may also appoint non-voting representatives from the provincial or federal government, or other organizations as they see fit. The Immediate President is a voting member of the Board. Elections for new board members take place on an annual basis at the Spring AGM. 

Our Honorary Patron

The role of Honorary Patron is filled by the Minister responsible for economic development. The portfolio of Minister of Jobs, Economy and Trade is most aligned with the mandate of our organization. The Honorary Patron  highlights the importance of economic development, and the significant role economic developers play in our communities. 

Our Honorary Patron is Hon. Matt Jones,  Minister of Jobs, Economy and Trade.

Our President

Shane Olson, Strathcona County

I am looking forward to my term as President of Economic Developers Alberta. As a member driven organization we work tirelessly to elevate economic development as a profession and at the same time support practitioners in their critical roles to promote sustainable long-term growth that benefits all members of our society.

In 2024, EDA celebrates is 50th anniversary. This milestone will be an excellent opportunity to celebrate where we have come from, and to reinvigorate our work that provides economic developers with leading edge programs, best practice sharing, networking opportunities and other valuable tools to help create thriving communities.

I appreciate the vision and leadership that has created an effective and admired organization at provincial, national and international levels. The success of our association can be attributed to our committed and talented staff, and also to the special contributions each President and board members have made over the years.

Economic Developers Alberta

Suite 127
#406, 917-85 Street SW 
Calgary, AB, Canada T3H 5Z9 

Contact Us

Toll Free Phone: 1-866-671-8182


© 2023 Economic Developers Alberta     |     Sitemap

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software