Economic Developers Alberta Recognizes Excellence in Economic Development

April 07, 2016 8:00 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

(Kananaskis, AB): Tonight, Economic Developers Alberta (EDA) presented its annual Awards of Excellence during its 2016 Annual Conference at the Delta Kananaskis Lodge.These awards honour Alberta individuals for their contribution to the profession; as well as Alberta communities for excellence in: Business and Investment Attraction (BIA); Business Retention and Expansion (BRE); and Community Economic Development (CED).

The individuals who were recognized are:

  • The Economic Developer of the Year Award was presented to Chris King (County of Grande Prairie).
  • The Outstanding Young Professional Award was presented to Tyler Westover (Strathcona County).
  • The President’s Award recognizes an EDA member who has made a significant contribution to the organization. This year’s award was presented to Heather Anderson (Woodlands County).

The communities or organizations that were recognized are: 

Business Retention and Expansion (BRE):

  • Small community/region (population up to 25,000) - Rural Alberta Business Centre - Cold Lake (Rural Alberta Business Incubator)
  • Medium community/region (population from 25,001–100,000) - Airdrie Economic Development (Business Satisfaction Survey)
  • Large community/region (population 100,001+) - Alberta Women Entrepreneurs (PeerSpark® Program)

Business and Investment Attraction (BIA):

  • Small community/region (population up to 25,000) - City of Wetaskiwin ('City of Opportunity' campaign)
  • Medium community/region (population from 25,001–100,000) - Town of Okotoks (Visitor & Activity Guide)
  • Large community/region (population 100,001+) - Edmonton Economic Development Corporation (International Trade & Investment Program)

Community Economic Development (CED):

  • Small community/region (population up to 25,000) - Town of Cochrane (Proudly Cochrane)
  • Medium community/region (population from 25,001–100,000) - Alberta South West Regional Alliance (13 Ways Performance Review for Ambitious Communities) and City of St. Albert (Dig In! Horticulinary Festival)
  • Large community/region (population 100,001+) - City of Edmonton, Economic & Environmental Sustainability (Corner Store Program)

The Alex Metcalfe Award recognizes the "best of the best" community project in each of the BIA, BRE and CED categories. The Alex Metcalfe Awards went to:

  • Business Retention and Expansion - Airdrie Economic Development  (Business Satisfaction Survey)
  • Business and Investment Attraction - Town of Okotoks (Visitor & Activity Guide)
  • Community Economic Development - City of St. Albert (Dig In! Horticulinary Festival)