2021 Timelines

The Economic Developers Alberta (EDA) Awards Program recognizes the province’s best economic development marketing materials, programs, partnerships and professionals that have made significant contributions to the profession.

EDA recognizes the individual achievements of its members and/or honours organizations for their efforts in growing their communities.


  • Call for Entries Begins - November 27, 2020
  • Final Deadline for Submissions - March 12, 2021 at 4:30 PM
  • Judging is expected to be completed – March 26, 2021
  • Awards Presentation - May 20, 2021

Entry Fees

  • Economic Developer of the Year- No charge
  • Outstanding Young Professional Award- No charge
  • Community Awards (Awards of Excellence)- $110 (+ GST)


Any EDA association voting member that is in good standing and resides within Alberta.

Nomination Categories

Community Awards (Awards of Excellence)- Recognizing outstanding work from economic developers across Alberta and showcase best practices in economic development projects and promotions. There are three awards in three categories; small medium and large communities in BRE, BIA & CED.

Alex Metcalfe – Best of Show: Honours one (1) nominee and judged as a ‘best of show’ from all the community awards of excellence winners based on their exemplary work in economic development in Alberta over the past year.

People’s Choice Award: Chosen by peers and colleagues throughout the conference, this award is judged from all Community Awards submissions of excellence based on their exemplary work in economic development in Alberta over the past year.  

Economic Developer of the Year- Awarded to an individual who has made significant contributions to economic development within the province of Alberta. 

Outstanding Young Professional- Recognizes a young EDA member who demonstrates notable professional accomplishments to date and shows great future potential. This award serves to enhance Alberta’s economic development profession by celebrating young professionals and promoting future leaders. 

Presentation of Awards

Winners will be recognized at the EDA Annual Conference, May 19-21, 2021 in Kananaskis.  All entrants are encouraged to register and attend. For more information, visit the events section of website.

Submission List

A list of all submissions will be posted in the members section on the EDA website.


Entries must be received by 4:30 p.m. MST on Friday, March 12, 2021.  Late entries will not be considered.

Your Economic Development Network in Alberta


Toll Free Phone: 1.866.671.8182


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software